Some people feel that the exploration of space justifies a large amount of government and private investment. Other people think that this field is of increasingly low relevance, and should not be a priority

The issue of whether people should explore the universe outside the earth is partly the question of cost-effective investments made by authorities. However the question of non-money benefits also plays an increasing role, and so this debate is rather complex, as we shall see. On the one hand, those who support the idea of halting exploring space point to the greater importance of other technologies which exert a direct impact on people's lives. For example, the development of the internet and AI technology could instantly stimulate efficiency and productivity, directly enhancing social welfare. Furthermore, it is also true that the funds allocated to discovering space could be distributed to the poor in order to tackle poverty issues, consequently resulting in a greater number of laborforce whose productions could contribute to more aggregate outputs and faster economic growth. By contrast, supporters of investigating the outer earth state that the earth has limited natural resources, for instance, natural gas and petroleum, and this scarce treasure will certainly die out one day due to human activities. Therefore, it is necessary for humankind to seek another planet containing these resources in order to maintain the normal operation of modern society. They also say, with some merit, that the research on the universe has stimulated scientific progressions, especially the advancements in physics. For example, owing to the invention of rockets and spaceships, the General Theory of Relativity hypothesized by Einstein could be evidenced based on data collected outside the atmosphere. Undoubtedly, the progressions of scientific research would certainly advance the improvement of modern technologies, which is conducive to ordinary people in the long run. In conclusion, it appears to me that the strong argument is in favour of the idea of discovering the unknown universe, with all the advantages of new sources of energy and long-term technological upgrades. This is provided that the government can enact appropriate policies to promote economic welfare and overcome social problems.