Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individuals do to help?

Nowadays, the natural habitat is encountering several issues caused by residents living on the Earth. The government’s responsibility is necessary and undeniable to preserve green areas. This essay will discuss environmental problems and some possible interventions to minimise the adverse impacts of humans on the planet. Overpopulation is one of the biggest threats to the Earth due to its complexity and hard-to-solve patterns. Population growth triggers a variety of ecological challenges, such as the exploitation of natural resources, air pollution and deforestation. Specifically, a rising rate of citizens directly leads to higher demands for houses, food, fresh water and fossil fuels, for example, oil, gas and coal. Overhunting and fishing contribute to the scarcity and extinction of endangered species, which decreases biodiversity and alter the interactions among organisms. Moreover, forests and other habitats are disturbed and destroyed to construct urban areas, including homes, businesses and roads. People also burn fossil fuels to support industrial processes, exacerbating air and water pollution and threatening wildlife. The government of every country should create a holistic approach to environmental issues. It is necessary to focus on reducing air pollution by promoting renewable resources, for instance, water, wind and sunlight. Last year, New Zealand encouraged people to use hybrid and electric cars by giving a subsidy to every person purchasing these types of vehicles. Furthermore, to promote public transport such as buses, trains and ferries, New Zealand government launched a scheme to reduce fares, aiming to ease traffic jams and fuel crises. Additionally, each individual should be environmentally conscious by opting for easily recyclable products such as paper shopping bags, glass bottles and bamboo straws. In conclusion, unless people pay attention to tackling environmental issues, the ecosystem will still be at serious risk of being destroyed, detrimentally affecting the human world.