In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, having a house is one of the best investments people must consider. This is very essential as it comes with many benefits. For this reason, I think this is a positive situation. The essay below will discuss the views above at length. First and foremost, renting a place does not mean ownership, thus, owning a house is very important because of several reasons such as having a place for retirement. For example, a study in Zimbabwe by Lisa Moyo in 2017 found that about 87 per cent of people who were retired from work had no place to call home. This is because during their fruitful years they could not save enough money to buy houses considering the economic situation in the country. In such cases, the government and relatives should intervene and offer a home. Unfortunately, more than half of the individuals do not get help. Therefore, I think it is wise to save and build a home to avoid such situations. Furthermore, a home is an investment for future generations. If parents manage to build a house, it means their children's future is settled at one place rather than renting where they can be told anytime that the rent contract has expired. For instance, if one owns a house, some of the rooms may be rented out so to get extra income and a lot of projects such as farming chicken can be done without rules from the landlord. Besides the mentioned, when things become tough in life, family members will have a place to stay and not live on the streets. Thus, building a home is the best thing parents and guardians can do for the generations to come. In conclusion, I think buying a house is far much better than renting one because it comes with many benefits such as having a home after retirement and settling a future for the whole family for good. These and other issues are discussed above.