Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Daily on their intelligent gadgets few youngsters waste time. This essay agrees that it is not good progress and will first discuss captivating social media platforms, second how it will affect mental health, followed by a conclusion. Attractive social interfaces are the cause of cellphone addiction. Every individual uses their phones according to a certain pattern and due to the rapidly innovating technologies the world is moving to a virtual reality for that purpose tech giants have created advanced artificial intelligent scripts that track every move made across the web by these individuals. This tracking helps these companies not only improve their platforms but also to show these teenagers what they will like to see thus making them glued to their mobile phones. For example, in 2015 Facebook reported a 50 per cent increase in their advertisement-driven revenue as they were able to attract humans at a tender age by using cross-application tracking to purchase what they wanted by displaying advertisements of which they searched most on Google. Unfortunately, as amazing as this innovation sounds, it is taking a toll on the mental health of these children. With the newly introduced trends of physical outlook, many individuals suffer from shattered self-confidence where they are never satisfied with themselves and have trouble socialising other than their mobile phones. Many cartoons are created this way so that adolescents create an imaginary world which is far from reality and are often found isolated talking to themselves and mimicking what they saw. Therefore creating a negative impact on brain peace. For example, in 2017 Newyork Times published a census of parents having offspring in their teenage, showing 80 per cent of these young ones were having trouble sleeping at night as their minds would not shut off from the uncontrollable thoughts. In conclusion, the negative development is that some children are spending a large amount of time on smart gadgets due to social media platforms being made very addictive through AI which is harming mental well-being.