Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, technology has an undeniable place in citizens’ daily lives. Especially children are affected more than adults, as it seems that they are spending most of their time on technological devices like smartphones and tablets. This essay will discuss the possible reasons for this situation while giving examples of its negative effects on society. The reasons for massive internet usage in the young generation can be explained in various ways. Firstly, living in urban cities, and not having enough playgrounds or parks cause youngsters to stay at their houses. Secondly, parents are having trouble providing their children with different entertainment options because of their long-lasting working hours. As a result, there are not many options rather than buying pupils smartphones, as they may get bored quite easily. It is clear that this type of technology consumption has a negative impact on our young citizens. Most importantly, communication between family members became extremely insufficient. Also, immense exposure to technological devices causes mental problems in children. For example, according to new scientific research, incidences of diseases such as autism and depression skyrocketed in the 21st century. Lastly, spending so much time on smartphones leads to inadequate grades in adolescents. For instance, everyday experts and teachers complain about lazy students and their exam results in TV programs. To conclude, more children spend time on these kinds of devices in these modern times, and it is mainly because of people’s living quarters and parents’ working situations. In my opinion, it affects the relationship between family members and leads to mental health problems and educational issues in children.