Many people nowadays spend a large part most their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this day and age, humans prefer to spend their leisure time with their phones. I believe this issue is caused by the rapid acceleration of technology and the fact that people are gradually more dependent on it. Moreover, these changes are good because smartphones help people detach from routines. However, the downfall is that individuals begin to lack hobbies. Some may think that the appearance of gadgets on the market revolutionized the world for the better. Additionally, the virtual world created on the screen helps people vanish from their real-life problems, from their surroundings and gives them some moments of peace. For instance, “ Tik Tok ” is one of the most popular applications. This is because, contrary to other apps such as “YouTube”, its role is to never let the audience get bored. So, “Tik Tok” shows short, funnyand inspirational videos which only last a few seconds, but give an enormous energy boost. Overall, smartphones ensure a short trip into the virtual world which is well-needed sometimes. Others may think that gadgets are an addiction for today's society. A reason for that might be the fact that some users get so caught up in virtual reality, that they forget about the one they actually live in. Hobbies begin to disappear and, together with them, people begin to lack identities. For example, there are multiple cases of children with severe anger issues that do not have life experience. If they do not have adequate screen time, kids become bored fast and eventually find it hard to fit with their other peers. In conclusion, I believe any type of excess is bad for society’s mental health. Phones can represent a good leisure activity, if a certain screen time is respected. Otherwise it can lead to serious conseqences.