Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the issue related to unpaid community services is debatable among schools and parents. Some parents think their kids are already occupied with a lot of subjects and also should not be getting familiar with the reality of the world this early. I personally believe schools should add such projects to develop self-confidence, leadership quality and empathy. Therefore, they should not be restricted at all. There are several reasons why unpaid community services should be compulsory. Participating in charity and the development of the neighbourhood will add moral values and improves behavioural values in kids. For example, donating their discarded stationery, clothes, and footwear to someone who is in need of them will add gratitude to them. Also, transferring their knowledge to younger will increase their confidence in their studies. Also as we know ‘Practice makes a man perfect, so kids will be confident in any subject area. With the advancements in,technology competition is high among pupils and we cannot forget the huge amount of syllabi to cover in short spans. If we make community services mandatory, it may affect their studies. For example, if we force kids for good deeds under the pressure of tests or any submission, it will make them mad. They might go in against such services. On the similar side, after seeing people at charity or neighbourhood who do not have basic life necessities some kids may get affected negatively. To conclude, the compulsion will affect the studies or put a bad impact on the new generation yet there are benefits that can be seen by indulging them in these activities. Nevertheless, it is playing an important role for kids, so that they can develop human values and good deeds.