Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best way to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that getting well-educated is the foundation of a successful life, and this motivates many people to attend universities or colleges for more advanced studies. Still, some argue that getting a job straight after school is a better option, as it not only allows us to avoid paying expensive university tuition but also enables us to make money earlier in our lives. In this essay, I will delve into both sides and explain why I disapprove of the latter. To begin with, there is no doubt that higher level educations benefit our future careers. By studying at universities or colleges, one can build knowledge and develop skills in a specific area that he or she is fond of, and those might be required in potential workplaces. Furthermore, digging deep into a subject helps a person have a deeper understanding of it and related fields, which later may give this person some insight when choosing career paths. For instance, people who study sciences are more likely to be familiar with subjects such as mathematics, physics and chemistry, and thus have clearer ideas about possible skills that are needed as well as job choices in these areas. Therefore, advanced educations actually bring us not only more abilities, but also more options to choose from. Despite having those aforementioned great advantages, quite a few people still believe that working prioritises attending university. First and foremost, the cost of studying at high-level institutes is normally not cheap. For example, tuition costs of some institutions in North America are rather heavy for a regular family, not to mention that the living expenses are not included. Also, working right after school means earning salaries, and thus accumulating assets in an early stage of life. This is much desired by people who are eager to be financially independent. Hence, it seems that having a job is more important than studying at an advanced institute. To conclude, both views have their own evidence that appears to be convincing to support them. However, as far as I am concerned, the latter suffers from logical and factual issues. Admittedly, learning at a high-level institute is time-consuming and expensive. But, having more skills makes a person integrated and therefore more competitive in the job market. Several studies have shown that those who have a university degree have a larger likelihood to secure a well-paid job compared to those who do not. Consequently,in the long run, having studied at universities or colleges has its advantages outweighing the downsides.