In many countries large amounts of food are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

Food waste is an ongoing issue in many countries around the world these days. The following essay will examine different factors contributing to this problem whilst outlining a number of feasible measures to combat the issue. There are two main underlying reasons why people waste food a lot. Firstly, due to the vast improvement in agricultural technology, farming has been almost mechanized, which has contributed to boosting productivity and increasing the harvest. In addition, by improving freight and logistics processes, food is allowed to have more cost-efficient transportation and distribution, leading to cheaper food prices in supermarkets and restaurants. As a result, people have the intention of buying an excess quantity of food than they need. Secondly, nowadays, people seem not to cultivate an appreciation for food compared to the past. Although food is a bare necessity, they are likely to take it for granted. Several measures should be implemented to mitigate food waste. First and foremost, campaigns which aimed to raise people's awareness should be intensified. Gradually, people become more conscious of the seriousness of the issue, and they may think carefully before buying or ordering excess food. Secondly, such an initiative should be implemented in tandem with imposing strict laws to forbid food waste in restaurants. That should be accomplished by fining diners who order too much food without the ability to finish them all. As a result, people then may decide wisely on what amounts of food to buy. In conclusion, cheap prices and lack of appreciation for food are the two main fundamental reasons for the food waste issue and solutions should be implemented to remedy the problems.