Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing pollution is a grave concern for the environment all over the world. The rise in the contamination levels of natural resources has been a contribution from both governments and large companies. Hence, I disagree with the statement that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only government and large companies can make a difference. Multinational firms in different sectors of the economy have been damaging mother earth by taking some very drastic actions. For instance, due to industrial activities, global warming has been elevating to an extent which poses a great danger to our future generations. Moreover, according to a recent scientific study, scientists have found a hole in the ozone layer above Antarctica which has raised the temperatures in the region to astonishing levels that have never been seen before. In addition to the larger companies, the community has been equally responsible for such vast damage to nature. Also, the deforestation done by certain sections of society to serve their greed has been a major cause of concern in a country like India. The irresponsible dumping of garbage, for,example the mountain pit of garbage in Delhi has made it difficult for the complete livelihood to survive there. Moreover, this has raised the toxicity of the river Yamuna to unimaginable heights. Therefore, it is the responsibility of individuals to take actions like proper dumping of garbage and put a stop to illegal deforestation activities to help the environment remain clean. Furthermore, governments need to take stern action against such individuals and put a hefty penalty on those caught destroying the planet. Also, knowledgeable people should arrange awareness sessions and promote activities like afforestation. I would like to conclude by saying that it is just not only the responsibility of larger firms and governments to save the environment. Instead, it needs to be a combined effort between both individuals and parties in power.