Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The field of medicine has advanced in leaps and bounds over the past century, and the modern technology available today only accelerates new discoveries and research when it comes to drugs and diseases. As our population is infected by new virus strains, the world's leading scientists are able to create effective vaccines in a matter of months, preventing further spread and decreasing deaths. Despite that, I believe parents should not be made by law to immunise their children against common illnesses. Firstly, manufacturing vaccines requires high time and capital investment, so consequently, the selling price of the vaccine will be expensive. Additionally, the pathogens inducing common diseases, such as seasonal flu or food poisoning, are always evolving and mutating as people recover from the ailment. As such, vaccines will have to be made and injected as often as the virus or bacteria changes. If a parent is obliged by law to immunise their children, this could regularly incur high costs, making it difficult for parents who cannot financially afford such frequent medical treatment for their children. Immunising against common illnesses will also jeopardise the development of a child's immune system. In order to build a strong immune system, the child's body must become accustomed to fighting against various foreign pathogens, like viruses or bacteria. However, using vaccines will allow the child to have immunity while skipping over this essential step, thus leaving the child at a disadvantage in the future should a different disease infect them because their immune system is insufficiently developed. In conclusion, vaccinating children against common infections is expensive and will impair the growth of their immune systems. Therefore, I believe that parents should have the right to decide not to immunise their children against certain diseases.