Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify two serious ones and suggest ways to resolve these problems.

It is undeniable that urban areas are getting more densely populated these days, and several concerns are arisen because of this. Among all these problems, unemployment and the ageing of society are two that definitely need to be encountered seriously. In this essay, I will delve into both in detail, and propose possible approaches to tackle them. To begin with, a direct outcome of the increase in population is the increase in cities' unemployment rates. In recent years, city populations are growing drastically while the total number of job opportunities is only increasing at a rather steady pace. As a result, on average more potential applicants compete for one job, and because of this, it becomes more difficult to be employed. For instance, statistics show that the number of new graduates in China has almost doubled in the second decade of the 21st century leading to a much higher unemployment rate compared to the first. Therefore, how to ensure more people get occupations is to be considered. Another problem caused by overpopulation is that more elders have to be taken care of, which demands more resources such as the labour force and places to live. Take those major cities in China as examples, the proportions of people in their retirement have increased significantly over the past five years, but there are not enough facilities to take after all of them. Consequently, the ageing problem is another issue. To conclude, the aforementioned two issues are direct consequences of overpopulation that can be easily identified. What can be done to deal with them? From my point of view, the most suitable method is that the government to devote more efforts and resources to developing rural areas. Firstly, more budget should be distributed to create more jobs in rural areas and make more people coming. Secondly, many rural places suffer less from environmental pollution and are desirable for living, which for sure would ease the ageing problem in cities.