Many animals are on the verge of extinction. What are some reasons for this? How can animals be protected?

Admittedly, all species are crucial parts to maintain a healthy ecosystem. On the other hand, in recent years, many of them have been becoming endangered. In my opinion, urbanization and utilizing animals for benefits are the two main reasons that have caused this situation. In this essay, I will explain my thoughts in detail. There is no doubt that industrialization has greatly improved our society, and a direct consequence of this is the expansion of urban areas. To facilitate the pace of urbanization, certain sacrifices must have been made, and one of them is the disappearance of several wilderness spaces such as forests, grasslands and lakes. Consequently, many species have lost their resources and spaces for survival and thus are on the edge of extinction. Another aspect to be considered is that people use animals for their own interests. Nowadays, overhunting has become the main concern when it comes to animal protection. As a result, a vast number of wildlife have been slaughtered and disappeared. For example, many African elephants have been victims of hunters due to the significant value of their teeth. Thus, the usage of animals without any constraints has negative impacts on preserving species. To conclude, because of the urbanization process, as well as people pursuing their own benefits, more and more animals are on the verge of extinction. To solve this problem, governments need to devote more effort to the protection of wilderness areas and the species living in there, by imposing more comprehensive rules and regulations.