Some people think that music plays an important role in society. Others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Experts throughout the developed and developing world have debated that whether music is essential to the society or merely just a way to entertaining. This essay will analyse both parts, using examples from the UK government and Oxford university to demonstrate points. I personally advocated the view that music is important due to its contribution in providing better living environment and social economy. On the one hand, some advocates regard music as a vital role in the public for multiple reasons. One of the them is that playing music in public areas leaves individuals with better experience. In modern society, it is common that some songs or pure music are played in areas such as parks, restaurants or shopping malls while people can be exposed themselves to these relax and wonderful tune and sound when they are walking, eating or buying goods. Such exposure would brighten their moods and in turn, help members in society to achieve the overall well-being. Another contributor is music can bring about economic benefit to society. Through a variety of commercialised activities including selling CD records or admission fees for concerts and music live shows, the musical industry can generate revenue of over 10 billion dollars each year in UK, according to the recent research by the local government. On the other hand, others who believe music is merely just a form of entertaining might provide the following argument. Compared to other social conponents such as medical system or education, it seems that music is not a necessity for individuals but only for them to amuse or spend leisure time, just like other ways to amusement. For example, emperical studies by Oxford university shows that the majority of people investigated states that listening to songs is totally the same as playing computer games, watching movies and TV series and they would only do these things when getting bored. Therefore, it seems that music is just a way for people to have some fun and nothing else. In conclusion, although music is not an basic need for humans' lives, I am of the opinion that it is crucial to society. That is because the values of improving living quality and boosting economy behind music are often overlooked, but generally, these would be of great value to the public.