Some environmentalists have advocated building wildlife sanctuaries to protect endangered species. Discuss the Advantages and disadvantages of doing this.

Conservationists these days are of the view that more spending should be done by the government on preserving more land for national parks. Whereas some are having a different point of view. In my opinion, species facing extinction should be protected and more space should be reserved for them. This essay below will further elaborate on the pros and cons of the same along with explanations and examples. To begin with, we are aware that there is rapid industrialization is hampering the existence of animals resulting in an imbalance in the food chain around the world. Also, these creatures require a safe haven and breeding ground under monitored conditions to increase their numbers. For instance, Cheetah a member of the cat family has already disappeared from the jungles of India a long time back. They have been imported from an African country and re-introduced in the wild to create a balance in the animal food web. Moreover, the government is also constructing animal-friendly highways passing through the conservatories so that there is safe passage for their movement. On the contrary, there is a section of people opposing this major development for the benefit of wildlife. conservation requires high financial support which seems unfeasible keeping in mind the density of the current population. For Example, the save tiger campaign run by the government has imposed several financial restrictions on the people living close to the national parks which in turn is causing them problems in day-to-day life. Moreover, the amount of funds which was consumed in running this campaign can be easily diverted towards other development work such as the construction of social facilities like schools & hospitals. To sum up, safeguarding the endangered race has to be considered our duty being the reason that, humans are the main culprit in the deterioration of the environment. But we must maintain the right balance between global development and conservation of the vanishing spices.