Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although face-to-face learning has been the traditional way of teaching for centuries, in recent years, online learning has become increasingly popular, and the trend is here to stay. However, few people contend that on-campus courses are better and more effective in delivering education than distance learning. This essay largely disagrees with this view because online courses provide far greater flexibility and accessibility to students as well as allow them to set the pace of the course resulting in a more comfortable virtual learning environment. With distance learning, scholars can easily access online materials at any time and from any location over the internet without having to attend face-to-face lectures. Moreover, a plethora of students attend on-campus lectures only to take notes as passive learners rather than for compelling learning reasons. Consequently, working people sometimes find it challenging to get time off from their work for classes, so often, they leave their on-campus courses incomplete. For instance, many studies have shown that retention rates for online learners are much higher than for traditional in-person students because it increases accessibility and removes physical limitations. Online courses give learners complete control over their self-study learning so they can work at their own pace. They can work quickly through areas they understand and spend more time on areas they do not. Rather than adopting a teacher-led curriculum in setting the pace of the course, students can work through the online material in advance of their classes so that they can actively participate during lectures, therefore, learning more as a result. To illustrate, recent research has found that students taking online courses have scored similar or better grades than the on-campus learners due to effective online engagement with educators. In conclusion, the cited evidence supports the view that online study offers significant benefits for both scholars and educational institutions in effectively delivering digital courses without significantly compromising the teaching quality. Besides, in online learning, learners can decide what to dig deeper into and spend more time learning based on the flexibility and self-learning pace set for the course.