Children should not have their own mobile phones or smartphones when they are in elementary school Do you agree or disagree with this statement ? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people feel that children who have not reached sixth grade should be prohibited from carrying mobile devices. In my opinion, supervised use is acceptable because smartphones are useful tools. The primary reason for carrying a telephone is communication, and that is a valid reason for young kids to have a phone. In particular, children can reach their parents on the phone if they are home alone or outside playing and if they have an emergency. For example, my sister has a ten-year-old son who likes to ride a bicycle in the nearby park, and he carries a cellphone. Last summer, one of his friends fell off his bike and hit his head. My sister’s son was able to call an ambulance and my sister. Thanks to his fast response, the adults came quickly, and the friend who had a concussion received the proper help needed. Hence, mobile devices are valuable for connecting with others when needed. An additional reason for my stance is that most mobiles have applications that can help children study. Granted, kids might want to play video games, but parents can limit their access to unwanted programs. Parents can help select apps that fit with a child’s interests and skill level to supplement formal education in a school. For instance, a young child who likes animals can learn more math through a program that is set in a jungle and includes problems counting the animals. Accordingly, learning applications can encourage creative thinking and nurture skills that will be helpful in any future career. In conclusion, as long as they are monitored, young individuals should be allowed to carry mobile devices before they reach sixth grade.