In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What problems might this cause in society?

Showing someone respect and kindness is a basic ethic, which everyone deserves. However, in some countries, young people do not respect their elders. This essay intends to analyse the reasons behind this behaviour and the issues it can cause in the community. To begin with, I believe parents should develop good manners in their children, where they learn to treat old people with love and respect. If they fail to do so, their kids might be disrespectful to their elders. Furthermore, a sense of compassion and kindness towards the older generation is not being taught in institutions. For example, in western countries, the young generation becomes independent after 18 years of age, after which they can live alone without the supervision of their parents. Therefore, this may cause a detachment from their older family members and they forget the significance of having them in their lives, which might also cause disrespect among them. Due to this unkind attitude of young blood towards their old family members,disastrous effects can be seen in the community. Such as, they might feel a disconnection from their own children and they might fear for their stay in their homes. Moreover, they might even be forced to live in old-age homes where they will feel very lonely and sick while missing their offspring. Hence, family values will be at risk and old fragile folks would be unsafe with their own kids. To sum up, teaching children how to respect and be humble with their elders is necessary otherwise it may put society's norms and values in danger. In my opinion, elders are like a history book to the community, as they have lived in times when youngsters could not. Therefore, they should be treated as the most sensitive and delicate population of the state.