Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the death penalty is accepted by only a few countries. Some consider it a fair punishment as a capital crime, while others conceive killing immoral in any sense. Throughout this essay, I will explore both views and express my own opinion on the matter. In Medieval times execution was quite a common thing, however, now it's prohibited in most countries. The explanation for this would be a clearer understanding of the value of a person's life. In modern times, human rights are the priority. Therefore, killing a creature, even if it is a criminal, who committed a severe crime sounds immoral. Moreover, a mistake during an investigation can occur, and a person might be innocent, which in the case of the death penalty, will have irretrievable consequences. One excellent example of an unfair death sentence would be the situation in North Korea. In particular, the government in the country controls every person, and even not that serious crimes, such as theft piracy, and consumption of media not approved by the government are punished with execution. On the other hand, some criminals might be hazardous to the community after decades in prison. For instance, serial killers, kidnappers, or terrorists tend to be detrimental throughout their lifetime. The fundamental reason for that would be their mental issues, which are, in most cases, incurable. Subsequently, it is a good idea not to release them from prison. In conclusion, my personal opinion on that topic would be that no person deserves to be killed. An alternative for that would be a life sentence, which does not give freedom to a potentially murderous person and, at the same time, keeps a human being alive.