Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can contribute to live full and active live. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Advancement in healthcare, coupled with better lifestyles has ensured longer life spans for our seniors. As a result, people aged over sixty-five, instead of sitting idle at home, are interested to be engaged and society must take initiative in providing opportunities for them. To begin with, a proportion of the people belonging to this age group will have experience working in the fields of science, technology and healthcare. Their expertise will help future generations to evolve from where they stopped. Moreover, they can work as consultants and provide their suggestions to fix complex issues that are faced, even in the contemporary world. For example, solutions provided by many veteran doctors, during the COVID pandemic, helped in defining the roadmap and limiting the spread of the virus. Hence, knowledge transition from this generation to society will prove beneficial. Additionally, there are seniors who performed nonspecialist activities. Communities can plan to utilise them in jobs that do not require too much stress. Occupations such as babysitting would be ideal, and this kind of job is something that they will enjoy at this age. As a consequence, parents of these kids can travel to their workplace free of any worries and contribute to society. Furthermore, after retirement people tend to become lazy as there is a deviation from their normal routine. This would result in a plethora of health and mental issues. Eventually, they become a burden to society. For instance, after exiting from jobs, brain activities get reduced and this can lead to memory-related diseases, such as dementia and Alzheimers. Therefore, keeping the seniors entertained will reduce the number of hospital cases. To conclude, seniors in the community should not be ignored, and society should set a platform for them to contribute. This will not only boost the economy but also provide a healthy and peaceful life for seniors.