More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Suffice it to say, that obesity has become one of the biggest problems in the modern world. Having said that, many people think it might be a good idea to raise the prices of products that are extremely rich in fat, and while it seems like a rational idea from a certain point of view, I completely disagree with the following proposition. First of all, it is important to identify the reasons behind the growing rate of obesity. Undoubtedly, the main reason why many people become overweight is the sedentary lifestyle that they have, for it may be challenging to allocate enough time to a walk in the park or to go to the gym after work. Consequently, the overall lack of movement and the absence of sporting activities promote laziness, which leads to the second problem - incorrect nutrition plan, as many tend to not only consume a lot of sugar (especially artificial sugar that comes from sodas and candies), but increase their calorie intake in general, exceeding their baseline and, as a result, gaining weight. Admittedly, extra taxation on certain unhealthy foods might have temporary benefits, as some individuals will stop buying them. However, consumers will not decrease their caloric intake and just switch from one set of products to another. What I think is going to be more beneficial, is to attack the root of the problem and promote a healthy lifestyle altogether, by encouraging people to try various activities, from hiking and camping, to participating in charity marathones, and by giving free gym or swimming pool memberships. In conclusion, I firmly believe, that if enough resources are allocated to promoting a healthy lifestyle, we will be able to minimize the obesity rate and turn things around.