Many governments spend a lot of money on art. Some people think this investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is no doubt that arts have emerged in our lives for years. Some people think that more money should be spent on art scenes such as museums and art galleries, while others say the opposite. In this essay, I will delve into both views and explain why more funds should be redirected to public services that benefit our entire community. To begin with, it is believed by many people that society should enlarge the financial support to arts. The main reason for this is that art scenes are symbols of a nation and thus any investment in them is worthy and necessary. Take China as an example, every year millions of Yuans (that is, Chinese RMBs) are spent by the central government on the maintenance of cultural sites like museums, temples, libraries, and so on. Places of art are images and reflect traces of the history and the development of a country. Therefore, any effort spent on preserving those art features is never useless. On the other hand, a large portion of our community argues that it is better to redirect more financial support to public services such as health care and education. This is due to the fact that these are the things that every citizen worries about, and thus should be considered top priorities. For instance, in many cities in Northwest China, budgets provided to schools and universities are severely insufficient. As a result, these institutes do not have enough funds to hire more teachers and update their facilities to improve the quality of education. Therefore, when it comes to budget distribution, services that benefit the entire society should be put in the first place. To conclude, although arts demonstrate great cultural and historical values, governments should only distribute a reasonable amount of funds to them and more should be spent on necessities that every citizen worries about. Places of art such as many tourist attractions can raise funds in many ways such as through ticketing sales, from stock markets or from private investors. In that way, governments are able to redirect more support to other more essential aspects.