As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

In the contemporary world, the human population is incrementing over the globe and so do their requirements and needs, which are having a negative impact on our environment. More and more nations are buying their own means of commute resulting in hazardous effects on the atmosphere. In this essay, I will discuss a few advantages and disadvantages of the above scenario until my conclusion is reached. To begin with, as the state progress in various fields, its citizens prefer to own a car instead of using public transport, which is usually sluggish and this might waste a lot of their time. People feel more independent as they get the freedom to go anywhere at any time. Furthermore, owning a car is also considered an investment that the population can rely on in case of an emergency situation. Therefore, due to it being time-saving and flexible in moving around people like to have their own vehicle. In spite of all the pros, there are a few cons that need to be considered. A large number of motors on the roads would cause increased air pollution resulting in smog and global warming. Similarly, the injurious fumes produced by the by-products of the fuel consumed by their engines can pose serious health risks to the community, such as asthma, allergies and other breathing problems. Hence, if everyone would have their own conveyance they are putting their environment including other human beings in danger. To sum up, although the dangerous effects of smoke generated by these cars are making human lives difficult, having to use their own wheels instead of commuting on buses or taxis makes the community independent and saves it a lot of its time. In my opinion, no matter how much we deny the significance of keeping a car, its positives will always outweigh its negatives.