All students should study art and music in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that art and music have positive impacts on our mental health, as many people have hobbies related to them. With that being mentioned, some people think that everyone must learn them in school, while others have the opposite thoughts. In my view, in general, making art and music mandatory does not facilitate one's career plan and also is not reasonable for time management. In this essay, I will delve into these points in detail. To begin with, most existing positions in the job market are in fields such as technology and business. Thus, in order to successfully get a job and adapt to work after graduation, it is desired that students have learned all the required knowledge and skills in relevant subjects. For instance, over the past 10 years, over 70 per cent of Chinese students have chosen the science stream in high school, so that they could later be admitted to science, engineering or business programs in the university. Consequently, courses that benefit future career paths are apparently of paramount importance and should definitely be included in the curriculum in the first place. Next, since those required academic courses have filled most part of their schedules, students really do not have much time left over. Take China as an example, for most high school students, over 90 per cent of their time is devoted to regular academic subjects such as math, physics and Chinese. As a result, they have extremely limited spare time for their own hobbies. Thus, making other subjects such as art and music mandatory in the curriculum would make the current situation even worse. To conclude, by analysing the necessity and relevance of courses to be covered in the curriculum, as well as how students prefer to manage their time, I strongly disagree to make art and music mandatory subjects in school. When it comes to making course lists, it is more reasonable and important to accommodate students ' actual needs.