Some people believe that schools should reward those students who show excellent academic performance while some believe that only the ones who show significant improvement in the grades should be rewarded. Discuss both the views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are many people who think that rewards should be given to those pupils who perform excellently in their exams, although others believe that they should be given to those students who show dramatic improvement in their grades. In my opinion, to get constant performance from a student, a prize should be given to those students who always outlay excellent overall results. On the one hand, to get continuous high outcomes, a student always needs to put in great effort. So, they should be rewarded as it is necessary to improve their career more and more. Moreover, a prize will encourage them to do work more than previously as well as to develop a positive mindset in their mind. For example, a study was conducted on 100 primary school students (50 gifts: 50 non-gift) in Bangladesh by Dhaka University, where they found that 42 students out of 50 kept their position in the final exam as they were given a gift, while it was 32 out of 50 among the non-gift group. On the other hand, it is also important to give prize who shows significant development in their exam. If one person gets a gift when he or she improves himself or herself in a particular subject, he or she will get motivation which will enhance to perform better in the next exams. For instance, it has been common nowadays in various institutions to give rewards when learners perform better any specific subjects such as Physics, Chemistry which helps them to grow more and more in this field. In conclusion, rewards are necessary for any type of improvement; however, it is more necessary to give prizes who can keep himself or herself constantly than any particular improvement. For this reason, I think, it will be more impactful, if the rewards are given to the students who show excellent academic performance.