Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are those that argue that nascent individuals should be taught parenting as part of their curriculum at school. While becoming a parent is not a necessary milestone for everyone and offering parenting workshops could be potentially a waste of time for those who do not plan to have offspring, I strongly believe students will benefit greatly from parenting training offered by a school, which will help them become caring, responsible adults when they grow up. Admittedly, we shouldn’t expect all teenagers to grow into parents, and therefore, some students may not benefit from parenting workshops at all if having children is not part of their plan. With the sharp decline in the birth rate in numerous developed countries, it is likely that a great proportion of the young population will not consider raising their offspring. As a result, taking courses on babysitting and households would take their precious time, which could be otherwise spent on their fields of interest. Furthermore, pupils are already tied up with schoolwork, working hard to achieve excellent academic records. Adding another subject to the curriculum will not only increase the difficulty of learning but also reduce their leisure time, which is the key to creative personal development and mental health. On the other hand, the brand new type of lesson could be a fun and educational experience for students. As teenagers are often too busy with the academic curriculum, and feel a sense of overwhelming anxiety, learning something totally different yet practical can help them reduce stress levels while obtaining practical knowledge about the household, for instance, how to cook and how to alter clothes. Moreover, considering the fact that there are countless possibilities in the future and even dink couples can change their minds later, receiving appropriate coaching on parenting techniques will allow the juvenile, immature group to be better prepared for potential parenthood. For example, pupils can learn a lot about child development from parenting workshops, and they will know exactly what to expect with babies at different stages and will not lose their temper easily. In conclusion, despite some minor drawbacks of parental courses, I am a firm believer that young people can significantly benefit from parenting courses offered at the academy, which prepare them to become responsible, caring parents to raise lovely, promising children.