In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the cause? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Everyone irrefutably wants to increase their wealth, be it by having multiple streams of passive income or by investments. Buying a house is considered to be of great importance for many people. This essay details the reasons for this belief along with its impact in the following paragraphs. To begin with, a house is considered to be a status symbol, thus pushing folks to put their savings into purchasing a house. To exemplify further, Indians often prefer buying a house to renting it as society values people who own rather than rent. Moreover, a house is considered to be an asset, that has an appreciating value always; which is why people tend to invest in the same expecting a constant return or passive income in terms of rental payments. Furthermore, many countries have low-interest rates on mortgages which encourages people to take loans to buy property; this is primarily done to increase the cash flow in the country thus boosting the country's economy. However, buying houses for the purpose of investment alone has negative effects. To earn profits, real estate agents often resort to the practice of flipping houses, which is buying at a low price and selling at a higher price. This unnecessary buying causes environmental issues like land encroachment and pollution as building houses emits a number of harmful greenhouse gases that causes air pollution as well as noise pollution. To illustrate further, a study conducted in an Indian state called Goa found that 30% of the houses have no one staying in them. This land could have been used to build parks or recreational centres for children and elders in society. In a nutshell, it is one's personal choice to buy or rent a house, however, buying just for the purpose of investment could have negative effects. It is our responsibility to ensure that the world is a more habitable place to live in for future generations. Together we can take a step towards this by pledging to reduce our personal carbon footprints to ensure that unnecessary pollution is not caused due to house building and flipping.