Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to young children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, voluntary work is needed to include highschool courses as a mandatory program. I believe, it will benefit the students by preparing them to the reality and should be added as an essential subject for students. Thi essay will tell about the reasons how community service can be helpful to the younger generation. Nowadays most of the younger generation are considered as selfish and arrogant, which is the result of lack of communication and knowledge about the world outside of their phones. With community work they can be forced to look around themself and witness problems like environmental pollution and social stratification. For instance, most schools allow their students to volunteer at charity events, where they can sell items or serve food to homeless people. Besides that, voluntary work is a great opportunity for students to get to know each other and make new connections. Making friends outside a class is a very helpful skill to learn. Such an environment will allow children to understand the importance of the support of others. But in order for youth to be more willing to participate in community work, they need to be motivated and this can be done without money. For example, schools can organize concerts or summer camps for volunteers. In conclusion, unpaid community work should be compulsory in highschool program. It will teach teenagers to be more careful with the environment and have empathy for others. To motivate kids as a reward, school administration can organize events for volunteers.