Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that the majority of students should choose their studies by their interests, while others claim that it is better to study only the relevant subjects of the future, for example science and technologies. While I agree with the first statement, there is another point of view which also will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, since technology runs the world now, it is important to be aware of future needs and fit the abilities into them in case to secure upcoming career opportunities. For example, in practice students of iberal arts could also take additional classes of computer science to learn how to digitize and adapt the knowledge to prospective future reality. However, forcing people to learn a certain subject is quite detrimental. There are a lot of examples from my friends' experiences, when they quitted studies or did not work even a day by their profession. Usually it happened because they were forced by their parents to study Economics or IT, as a profession of the future, but at the end of the day they were simply wasting their time and resources on something they were not passionate about. In conclusion, I believe it is important to be adaptable to realities and study additional subjects that could be useful for the future career. But, it is more crucial to choose something you are good at and passionate about, rather than wasting years of studying just to fit into upcoming standards.