After graduating from high school , some young people decide to start working right away instead of going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

It is irrefutable that education is an important part of everyone's life. While there are benefits to starting working after graduating from school and not going for higher education, there are also drawbacks to consider. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the topic. To begin with, the major plus point is that you start earning at an early age. To illustrate, even if one earns a minimum wage, they will be able to earn $45,000 if they work 40 hours a week. While, an income of $45,000 at the age of 19 is great, practically, you will only be able to reach a salary of $70,000 at the end of 5 years. Therefore, limits the scope for growth as there is no qualifying degree or specialised skill set. Moreover, attending a university will be a costly affair and would cost a fortune. On the other hand, studying a major subject gives you specialised skills that can be applied in the workplace and can help you become a professional. Additionally, to become a doctor or an engineer, a formal degree is required. To exemplify further, the jobs you can do after school are labour intensive and you are not using your skills much, while professional jobs are more knowledge-based rather than hard work. Therefore, attending a specialised college can be supportive in building skills and knowledge that you could miss out on by not going to university. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that it depends on an individual to evaluate based on their aspirations and financial goals for the long term before coming to a conclusion, and setting their sail towards the path ahead.