The university is to prepare students for employment or has other functions. Discuss both and give your opinion.

University education serves as an important role in numerous people’s lives. Some individuals regard the university as a place to help students better prepare for employment however others believe that the university ’s role should not be limited to that single aspect. Both views are deemed to be justified. The merits of both sides of opinions will be analysed in this essay. On one hand, the university does contribute a lot in terms of supporting students to win themselves a place in job markets. Through instructing essential background knowledge and information central to different working areas, university affords students an opportunity to hone their skills and to boost their employment competence. For example, in many social work programs, students are able to learn relevant theories and to engage in real practice. These learning experiences enable students to increase work-related capacities, thus helping them become more capable of pursuing future careers. In this regard, the university does have the function of assisting students to be more employable. On the other hand, the university has other vital roles such as allowing students to develop their interpersonal skills and to enlarge their social networks. It is not uncommon that universities accept students from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds. This enables students to communicate and cooperate with and, to learn from different kinds of individuals, thus supporting them to achieve personal development. The university, therefore, does act as an important role regarding facilitating students ’ social skills. After analysing, it is clear that both points of views have their merits. It is felt that the university should not only provide work-based courses that sharpen students ’ employment competitiveness but also help student enhance abilities to positively relate to others.