In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, people are getting attracted towards large shopping complexes and malls for their needs rather than going to a local shop. In my opinion, although it is affecting local economy, it is advantageous as mall provides better options for people of all ages. Since the start of 20th century, people have changed their way of shopping; from local shops to big complexes. Malls have choices for whole family under one roof, which local shops lack and because of that people prefer them over a small store in the area. For example, people can watch a movie in the cinema if they get bored or enjoy their favourite delicacy when they get hungry while they go to shop, as all of the things can be done at one place. Moreover, all of their favourite brands are at the same place, which makes it easier to shop. However, there are a few drawbacks of the big shopping complexes. Since its opening, local businesses has suffered a lot due to the decrease in sales. Everyone prefers going to the outlet store rather than shopping locally, and due to that, the livelihood of local business families is in danger. Furthermore, it can affect the economy of a country as they are the biggest employer anywhere. For instance, recently a study suggested that nations where local business is not thriving, has more chance of getting into a recession. In conclusion, local stores are losing its charm due to plunge in their sales but a mall gives wider range of entertainment to public, which is crucial for a family. Consequently, large entertainment centres are going to take over small shops in the future.