Topic: Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion stating that nowadays, public libraries should be set aside due to the significant development of advanced computer technology that facilitates people to have more convenient methods to find information. I disagree with this opinion because maintaining libraries is still beneficial for communities. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the evolution of computer science has provided numerous strong points that simplify life. Instead of visiting libraries to borrow physical books, everyone can access various resources on the Internet, for example, online newspapers and magazines, electronic books and podcasts, to enrich minds, acquire knowledge and entertain themselves. Moreover, the creation of several devices with large capacities, such as mobile phones, laptops and touchscreen tablets, has enabled people to keep thousands of essential books and materials without purchasing costly containers and bookshelves for long-time storage purposes. Furthermore, utilizing these modern technology products makes the due dates for returning items to the libraries no longer necessary, which benefits individuals with tight schedules or memory problems. On the other hand, public libraries, which are major sources of information for society, are still unreplaceable in this generation due to their distinct advantages of enhancing social connections. Notwithstanding fewer people visiting libraries nowadays, these places are most suitable for everyone to make new friends and exchange learning experiences. Students opt for libraries to have a quiet, professional environment for academic purposes such as doing research and graduate thesis. Elderly adults having limited computer literacy find these locations handier to seek information. Additionally, many libraries provide computers with high-speed Internet and printers, making technology approachable to low-income individuals. Finally, while those repositories are essential incubators to foster learning, some are architectural wonders featuring marvellous designs that reflect historical and cultural values. To sum up, computers and libraries are crucial for people to expand their knowledge. Therefore, I believe public libraries will co-exist with modern technology because of their unique features.