In many countries, people go shopping only for their needs. However, recently it has become a development into a form of entertainment. Why do you think it happens? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more individuals do the shopping for entertainment not to purchase necessary products. This essay will elaborate on the reasons why this is the case, as well as the reasons why I believe that this is an undesirable development. To begin with there are several factors associated with people going shopping due to entertainment. Firstly, the effect of advertisments encourages customers to purchase unnecessary goods. Take Apple, a well-knowned tech company, for example; they launch their new products annually, resulting in some people buying a new moblie phone every year to be satisfied with the latest technology despite the fact that their current devices still function perfectly. Another factor is that the advent of social media encourages individuals to live an extravagent lifestyle just to keep up with their friends or celebrities. Consequently, people enjoy going shopping unnecessary products to catch up with the latest trend. Personally, I am convinced that this is a detrimental movement and the main reason is that when people buy more, there is a surge in the amount of waste, leading to environmental issues. For instance, increasing junks requires higher amount of fuel energy in the eliminating process. In this respect, more carbon footprint produced, and this directly worsen global warming. Moreover, when people live beyond their means, they become in debt by using credit cards, and many cannot manage to pay bills on time contributes to financial problem. For example, several research findings have revealed that individuals who has been using credit cards over than a decade had problems regarding managing to pay their bills at least once. In conclusion, while advertisments and social media are the main reasons of customers purchasing things as a form of entertainment, I am of the opinion that this is a negative trend, especially in terms of worsening individuals’ financial status, as well as global warming issue.