The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, public debate has been going on about whether media should include more good news stories. Some believe that news outlets put out too many negative articles and they should include more good feelings evoking stories. On the other hand, readers believe that news should depict real life for that reason journalists must not look at the world through rose-tinted glasses. I partially agree with both sides of the aisle. To begin with, there is a belief that there are way too many negative news stories put out to the world. Some believe that this may cause a rise in anxiety levels for some readers, thus media should write and promote more positive stories so readers could find at least a few good news in the peppers. As a result, consumers might feel better and more optimistic about life and the world in general. Such good-feeling stories evoke positive emotions and motivate people to do more good in their daily life. This way not only the person will benefit from the experience but also his community will feel a positive impact. On the other hand, critics believe that bad news -good news ratio is expected to be more on the negative side because of ever degrading society and the rise of crime in the world. News are a direct representation of the world and what is happening at the moment. Reporters state that by writing more positively about events of today they would create a false narrative that might have a short-lasting positive effect that will only delay and worsen the reader's state of mind. By not writing and reading sad or even horrible stories about the world people put a curtain between themselves and reality. As a result, when people have to face the truth they feel anxious and as if the world is crumbling beneath their feet. Thus, journalists should not try to please anyone and writing darker stories is good for humanity because it shows how the world is really working. All in all, some people say that the media should increase the number of positive news stories that the news outlets put out, while others disagree and state that the amount of negative news stories is a fair representation of the events all around the globe thus helping people to face reality.