Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Nowadays, in numerous states around the globe, illiteracy has been a wide- ranging drawback. Main causes towards this case appears to be focused in two cases, therefore two effects also appear to be possible. It seems to be that the major factor is the increased poverty level. Poverty may lead to many people lacking fees to pay for their education or even lack money to buy study materials, such as books, notebooks, pen and pencils. For instance; in countries such as India, according to the latest data which was from 2022, has said that the poverty rate among India has been reached into 83% percent and this has caused the illiteracy rate go up a 5% percent higher than it has been in a 2020. Another following cause is the child labor, that is exacerbating the illiteracy rate increase. Many of the children in underdeveloped countries try to get jobs and hence skip education, so as to help in fending for their families. The effects of this obstacles on citizens, as well as society as a whole can be quite excessive. First of all, being unable to read or write, means they have never been learnt in school before, so they most likely have never been taught the most basic knowledges, in result this can limit one’s access to information. These communities may not learn how to prevent certain diseases or how to get medication for illnesses. Another widely-observed effect on society may be slow development. Since poverty may be the main cause of illiteracy, the country with high level illiteracy can suffer from low GDP levels. In conclusion, poverty and child labor seem to be the main causes, and they impact both individuals and society in the areas affected.