Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often suggested that one of the compulsory components of the school program should be financial education. I strongly agree with this point of view as I believe that financial aspects are a major part of the daily life, even as a young individual. Each and every one of us has to make financial decisions concerning health, education, recreation and more. First of all, understanding the value of money, the way the economic system works and how to interpret the financial news and its implications is a virtue. This is because an individual, even a young one might suffer to some extent. For example, a child who doesn't understand the concept of money might find it difficult in accepting a lavish birthday party from a simple family dinner. Furthermore, many adults nowadays are lacking the capability of financial analysis. Quite often, the reason can be the lack of sound foundations when it comes to financial terms and concepts. Starting from an early age, building a strong background, can likely prevent such a situation. While there is no question that financial education involves the matter of setting prices for the services and goods. It can easily turn young people into emotionless human beings. A tendency to self-centeredness and egoism might arise when one starts measuring from a profit-making perspective. In conclusion, financial education has both pros and cons. In my opinion, the advantages are more significant than the disadvantages, making financial education an advisable component of the school program.