Museums and art galleries should show local history and culture instead of work from different countries. Discuss both views and give opinion.

There is a heated argument that local history and cultural knowledge should be exhibited in museums and art galleries rather than work from foreign lands. I believe that such places should focus largely on depicting the real regional history and heritage to the people and this essay will put forward both the views, followed with a logical conclusion. To commence with, there are plethora of reasons to support the viewpoint to showcase the local historical and cultural knowledge in galleries and exhibition halls, however the predominant one is that mostly these places are famous amongst tourists, and they seem more interested to visit and explore such areas. Hence, it will be a beneficial idea if the government depicts the national legacy and culture, which will help them to gain knowledge about the different values and religions of that particular nation. For instance, in Leh and Ladakh in India, there are various museums which largely display the beauty and traditions of the city and attracts lot of visitors, which also helps in boosting the economy of the place. On the other hand, the individuals cannot neglect the benefits of displaying the work from other countries because it can help in building a fruitful relationship with cross-countries. As by emphasizing the other’s work in a particular country, it will increase the business opportunities across regions and could help in expanding the work in their country also. For instance, in India Mahatma Gandhi Museum showcases wide range of innovations that are from other nations, just to familiarize the local community about the new inventions and technologies which also enhances their knowledge on the same. To conclude, I believe that galleries and art centres should focus largely on localised historical and cultural information because it will be helpful for the tourist community to grab the understanding about the traditions and heritage. However, other country’s work -related information should also be displayed as that is going to establish foreign relationships.