Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think is a positive or negative development?

This paper will discuss the belief that as people can buy the same products wherever they are, countries are becoming highly similar each time. Being part of a community can make individuals start following the same tendencies. However, looking at countries, there are always going to be enough differences which are not going to trigger a similarity between them. Firstly, thanks to the internet, we can have the product we want just with a computer click or a phone call. This allows society to have the opportunity to buy something they like without the need to travel to other countries just because the shop is there. Besides, it is a good business for shops and big companies because they are expanding the products to more people. Nevertheless, I don’t think that countries are becoming similar because each country still has their cultures and ways of living which are not going to change even if individuals are able to buy any item around the world. For example, Inditex is a cloth brand setted up by Amancio Ortega in Spain, and thanks to the popularity it acquired, he could expand the business to the United States of America, physically and telematically. Nonetheless, this does not mean that now the USA is becoming similar to Spain, it just letting people open their fashion minds and try new merchandise. Nowadays we are living in the social media world which means a life full of adverts and influences which make individuals from different states want the same things. And this is not negative because you feel part of the worldwide community, being able to buy the product you want such as furniture, clothes, paintings and so on. In conclusion, the idea of being able to purchase products anywhere in the world does not mean that countries are similar because their culture is still going to be there. It is just a share market of new points of view like ideas or fashion.