Some countries are considering imposing curfews in which teenagers will not be allowed outdoors at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this policy? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, much polarization has arisen over whether a curfew, in which adolescents going out at night are required to have an escorting grown-up, should be implemented. While there are obvious demerits to such a policy, I believe it is of more good than harm. This essay will explore both sides of the argument and highlights justifications for my perspective. On the one hand, imposition of the policy will socially harm teenagers. When observed by adults, adolescents will feel uncomfortable talking with one another, or hesitate to engage in certain activities for fear of being misjudged. This may impair their ability to create meaningful memories with one another, causing tensions and corroding the meanings of such relationships detrimentally affecting their social lives. However, I am convinced that, even though feelings of uncomfy are inevitable, the adult will eventually become ignored. As long as teens’ actions are not socially incorrect, they will come to accept him as a mere observer keeping check on their safety. On the other hand, because certain cities have incredibly high rates of criminal activities during the night, some teenagers are at significant risk of being harmed. By being assigned an accompanying adult, they will be much benefited if they were to go outside. Coupled with this, the proposal may curb juvenile delinquency. Teenagers commit crimes themselves, especially during the night for they are less likely to be caught. For instance, some choose to rebel by vandalizing - spray painting or demolishing- public properties, while others take to stealing or looting in order to purchase expensive items. Hence, either by staying at home or having an escort, much fewer teenagers will participate in such activities. Summing up, while some people believe introducing a curfew forcing teenagers to have an escort adult at night will socially harm their interactions with peers, I believe over some time, as long as the group’s outings do not cause trouble, they will accept the presence of the adult. In contrast, the policy will not only bring safety to adolescents but also reduce the rates of juvenile crimes.