Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

The effect that advertising has on our society may be subtle, and most of us remain unaware of how it moulds us to meet the needs of competing companies. Actually, a large number of advertisements may be harmful to consumers and therefore should be better controlled in the mass media. The negative influences of advertising from competing companies on consumers are beyond doubt. It is easy to change people’s needs into greed. In fact, advertisements from different companies constantly encourage people to want diverse things. Thus, surrounded by the advertisement, people are too unwise to perform a balanced act between income and expenditure. In other words, many consumers are convinced to overdraw the money they do not have. As a result, what seems to be good for the economy begins to backfire because advertising from competing companies may mislead consumers deeply into credit card debts which they could not afford to pay before the deadline. Accordingly, some proactive methods are suggested to be applied. Firstly, the government should take serious action to counteract the negative effects of advertisements from competing companies. One effective approach is to establish and impose strict censorship aiming to advertise on mass media. Also, the local TV station and Internet website should increase the costs of these advertisements to be shown or published through the public media. In this way, the current enormous qualities can be reduced and minimize their negative impacts. In summary, the drawbacks of advertising to customers may motivate people’s greed and add huge financial burdens. Consequently, various actions should be taken by the government, TV stations and website managers to reduce these negative impacts and protect the rights of consumers.