Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, migration and tourism are two common ways to travel to a foreign country. For many people, it is hard to keep up with a new language; therefore, people have to deal with not solely severe social problems, but also face with practical problems. I tend to agree with this opinion, and in this essay, I will support my view with examples. One of the most serious social obstacles is cultural shock. The language barrier is a cause of this issue. Many people found it very difficult to make friends when leaving in a foreign country, conversations are not just about food and weather, these contain several topics that require complex vocabulary. Some people said that in spite of having linguistic qualifications, they still have problems when talking with native speakers. As a result, they usually do not develop good relationships with local citizens and prefer to stay within the confines of their own community. For example, my friend who study abroad in Canada, despite gaining a C1 level on an English test, said she was nervous when she have to debate topics with native students. Another reason for my belief is that the inability to the local dialect may limit job opportunities. Getting a job in foreign language requires a high level of fluency in a language, even in work as low-paid as a waiver. So, many immigrants are affected by financial difficulties. Another problem relates to daily activities. If you have little or no knowledge of the local language, it may be difficult to understand the contents of packaged goods, such as tins or cartons of food, or their cooking instructions, causing them to follow a limited diet. It is widely accepted that nowadays, with the development of technology, people could use an alternative tool such as Google translates to communicate with local people, but it inconvenient. To sum up, I agree that living in a country with poor access to the local language is challenging both socially and practically.