What are the benefits and drawbacks of Single-Sex Education?

School is not a building only, but it is more than a warehouse of knowledge. Some believe that children must go to same- gender schools; however, others think, co-educational scenarios are the best. Hence, this essay will address both schools of thought. On the one hand, single-sex schools provide a more relaxing environment for boys and girls as they do not have social pressures to worry about. It means they feel free to speak out frankly and forthrightly. Moreover, they can take more risks easily without the risk of any concern about saving face in front of the opposite gender. Everyone in the class contributes freely to discussions of the same gender with more comfortable behaviour. furthermore, single-sex classrooms allow the teacher to tailor the curriculum. To be more precise, they will be able to design the syllabus in a way that students connect with it. For instance, at an all-girls school, the teacher can read books which are of more interest to girls and discuss their concerns. Besides this, in an all-boys school, the tutor can teach Hamlet which involves a father-son relationship. Hence, such schools provide knowledge according to sitting gender. On the other hand, if these schools have some merits, there are a few demerits too. Firstly, girls and boys in same- gender schools may miss out on learning how to socialise with the opposite gender, which can lead them to feel shy or uncomfortable in the later phase. Thus, when they face other children of the opposite gender, they do not always know how to react, as they are unfamiliar with the environment. Similarly, in coed schools, the learners get more opportunities to help each other during any hardship. They learn to tackle different problems belonging to the opposite gender along with appropriate solutions. To conclude, after this discussion, I am of the opinion that single-sex education is a throwback to the type of education that existed before the 19th century. Undeniably, it has been overpowered by coed schools, but it has equal advantages and disadvantages.