Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem

In the modern world, motor vehicles are becoming an integral part of everyone’s lives. Even with the advancement in technology, the usage of mobile phones during driving and heavy traffic congestion during peak working hours can lead to accidents and this can be reduced by increasing fines and improving public transport. Nowadays, people use their mobile phones while driving for answering a phone call, replying to a text message, or navigating the Global Positioning System. When people use mobile phones while driving, their attention gets divided and they are not able to act in time for any incoming vehicle which in turn leads to a road accident. In addition, people have more than one car in the modern household and during working hours, it leads to traffic congestion which then increases the chance of accidents. For example, a survey conducted in China stated that every house has 1.65 cars and people use their private vehicles because it saves them one hour on a daily basis. Nevertheless, road accidents can be prevented by introducing strict policies and fines for people who use mobile phones during driving. If a person gets caught using a mobile phone while driving, then the demerit points of their driving license should be reduced and also they need to pay a fine. Moreover, the government can work towards improving public transport during working hours as well as introduce cheap tickets or concessions for daily travellers which will encourage the working population to opt for public transport rather than using their own vehicles for work. To conclude, motor vehicles are an essential part of one’s life. However, it can lead to an increase in accidents but this can be prevented by enforcing fines and improving public transport.