Some young people are leaving countryside to live in cities and towns leaving oly old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there is a rising trend of the young generation migrating to urban regions as they look for career advancement and a higher standard of living. Meanwhile, a large number of older folks are left in rural areas alone, without receiving appropriate attention for their physical and mental health. Despite young people having significantly greater employment potentials and being able to experience a variety of lifestyles, I think the loss on the older population is way too much for society to take. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits to young people relocating to cities. The most prominent advantage is that they can enjoy abundant career opportunities with more sophisticated occupations. Big cities are often chosen by multinational companies as places of headquarters and therefore, there are a great amount of highly sophisticated labour demands with decent salaries for positions like financial analyst, database manager, and data scientist. Therefore, young talent with specialized skills and knowledge might find themselves much more competitive in cities, where the demand for their speciality is much higher than that in rural areas. Furthermore, city life allows the energetic population to explore all sorts of lifestyles and hobbies. For instance, a New Yorker can hang out with his/her friends at malls right after work, arranging multiple activities including watching a movie, visiting a fine-dining restaurant and doing some grocery shopping all at once. Consequently, youngsters living in cities can find their dream careers and explore different things. On the other hand, the cost of the relocation of the youth to cities is on old folks, who are left alone in less developed areas without well-established facilities to cover all kinds of daily needs. The elderly living in the countryside requires proper attention and care from their children and medical professionals in order to live to a ripe old age. However, as their offspring leave them and move to cities, they are left alone. The overwhelming feeling of loneliness can cause severe mental problems, even leading to tragic illnesses like dementia. Moreover, the senior class usually suffer from some chronic diseases that require constant medical advice from doctors and even regular physical inspection. The lack of hospitals and the shortage of qualified caregivers in rural areas can pose serious threats to the physical condition of the seniors, threatening their life span and standard of living. In conclusion, while big cities provide young people with abundant career opportunities and a variety of life experiences, the cost of letting the senior class live alone in rural areas is too huge for society. Not only will senior citizens suffer a lot from isolation and missing their far-away families, but they also face a limited supply of facilities to cover their daily needs.