Creative artists should always be given freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Artists have always been inspiring humanity and motivating society to make progress for centuries. Among all characteristics that artists must have, creativity obviously plays a pivotal role. Thus, this leads impressionable people to believe that artists should not be restricted by government regulations on their speeches and behaviours. In my view, this opinion is reasonable to some extent but suffers from certain logical and factual issues. In this essay, I will explain why I only partially agree with this and the detail of my thoughts will be provided. To begin with, artists should never be afraid of thinking of and trying new ideas and methods. Creating artwork is like doing scientific research, in the way that both require creators to have the freedom of thinking and the spirit of not being afraid of failure. As a consequence, more and more artworks such as books, paintings, movies, and sculptures can be created to enrich our culture. On top of that, art is also a platform for highlighting social issues that every citizen is concerned like poverty, equity and the environment. For instance, the popular rock band Linkin Park from the USA has several anti-war songs that have grabbed people's attention to this. In general, with no boundaries, artists are more likely to produce high-quality work that promotes the diversity and harmony of society. On the other hand, artists do need to be aware that certain restrictions do apply when it comes to creating new things. There are many sensitive topics and if attention were not being paid, could possibly offend some groups of people. Religion, for instance, is one of those sensitive issues, and there have always been clear bottom lines that should not be touched. In essence, artists always need to be aware of possible outcomes that their work may lead to before starting to create. To conclude, it is crucial for artists to be creative and have the freedom to express their own thoughts. However, they must be responsible for what they say and do, as it could affect a considerable portion of the population. Therefore, certain restrictions are required when it comes to things that could possibly cause controversy in society.