Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics difficult, it ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this option?

These days some students find science subjects very difficult hence some members argue that they should choose whether to study them while others think they should not. In my opinion, this essay will partially agree with the statement. On one hand, one of the reasons why science lessons should be a must in all schools is because the state will be in need of mathematicians in future. That is to say, if the government allows school children to choose whether to take math or not, most children opt for the easy subjects and the state will have few students interested in such lessons hence in years to come, some professions will lack qualified staff. For example, some developed countries which decided to make hard lessons optional have shown a big decline in the number of learners who want to take them up and this has led to a lack of enough doctors and accountants in their countries. On the other hand, in my opinion, I believe a difficult lesson should be made optional because learners need to concentrate on other things that will help them get the good future that they wish to have. In other words, when a student wants to become an English teacher, this only means that she needs to learn more about literature than maths, so letting her concentrate on novels and English will be more advantageous than forcing her to learn what she's not good at. For instance, a lot of people have become successful members of a community as a result of studying arts. In conclusion, although mathematics or physics are important for children during their schooling time because it enables the nation to have scientists, in my opinion, l think the government should make them optional so that the students can choose to study them willingly.