Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. Do you agree with this statement? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Some people said that many cities today have experienced big traffic jams since the increase in car ownership over three decades later. I cannot argue with this statement as more society thinks that using a private car is more reliable than using any other transportation that leads to congestion in many cities and to prevent this, authorities need to make a campaign and raise taxes on cars. To begin with, the upsurge in private cars makes the road congested. The private car becomes one of the modes of transport used by most people since it is easier and they can use them anytime they want. This attitude makes society prefer to have their own car, and the increasing number of people who have the same mindset makes the road space become crowded, which causes big congestion in many countries. Take Indonesia as an example. Most people in several cities prefer to use private cars because they can adjust their time when they want to work since when using public transportation the time of public transportation is not suitable for employees. Hence, Indonesia right now becomes one of the most trafficked countries since many people prefer to use private cars. To overcome this kind of phenomenon authorities must take several actions to prevent this from becoming worse. First, the government needs to tell their citizens about the bad effects of car increasing. This way can be done by using advertisements to make their citizens realize the drawback of having their own car. In England, for instance, their government made a statement that the increase in cars has a side effect on global warming and it was really successful in decreasing the number of cars. Second, the authority must raise the tax on a car belonging to make people not want to buy a new car. This kind of policy can be done as a way to make people think twice before buying a car, and people will prefer to use another kind of transportation. Therefore, this resolution will make many people will prefer not to use private cars anymore in the future. To Conclude, this kind of phenomenon can really happen as many people think that the effectiveness of using a private car can lead to the road becoming crowded. However, the government can take measures to this situation by giving a campaign to make their citizens aware of the bad effect of using their own car and increasing the taxes to make people not want to buy a car. This kind of policy needs to be done by the government as soon as possible to prevent any worsening drawbacks that may happen in the future.