Many business in the world today are run by family members. Do the advantages of family-run business outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, there are several forms of business. A large number of today's businesses are run by family members. Although family-run businesses can avoid a breach of confidentiality, in my opinion, the downside of it greatly outweighs its upside because companies eventually face a lack of creativity. On the one hand, one of the positives of family-run businesses is that companies can keep secrets. This is because family members will not cheat each other, and they can make an effort to flourish their businesses in cooperation. For instance, in many Southeast countries such as Malaysia, Singapore, and Indonesia, people often establish family-run businesses to avoid their employees betraying them. However, I do not think this could be the primary upside of family-run businesses overwhelmed their downside since this kind of cheating can be prevented if people make an agreement when they hire someone. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of this type of business is the shortage of creativity and innovations. The major reason for this is that family members are alike in thinking ways. Therefore, they hardly come up with something new unless they take in them from hiring someone else. For instance, in Japan, real estate films are mostly family-run businesses, and they cannot beat foreign capital companies due to the lack of ideas. I agree with this point of view because films' major achievement is to gain more profits. To conclude, even though businesses will not suffer from a breach of confidentiality if they are conducted by family members because family members can work hard and barely cheat family members, I believe that the negatives of family-run businesses greatly overwhelm the upside as companies cannot innovate something new to gain more profits without hiring someone other than their family members.