Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary epoch, technology has changed the lives of people drastically in an easy manner. One of the main aspects of technological advancement is that it has allowed people to download music and books which are protected by law by eliminating the traditional way of doing it. I believe that this is a positive as well as negative development to a certain extent. The following essay will elaborate further on my answer with examples. In the past, people had to follow a plethora of procedures before downloading a song or reading materials which are copyrighted, sometimes they had to pay for subscriptions once a month or years. However, with the evolution of technology, this traditional method has flipped where today people free download books and albums of songs. Besides this a positive development because why not people use the free resources which are all over the internet rather than paying heaps of dollars? As an example, today millions of students do their graduates researches through the usage of free books on the internet. Thus, the internet has made the lives of people easy which they can rely on. On the other hand, there is a negative consequence of free downloads where individuals can mislead information or upload music and books to other websites and earn money. To exemplify, today there are plenty of groups that infringe albums and different research books to people all over the internet at high prices. Moreover, some of them are downloaded from the internet and sold in cafes where children can buy them. Therefore, many people can misuse the free opportunity that is provided on the internet as using it for various purposes. To conclude, I believe that today modern technological development in downloading music and books for free has provided numerous benefits for people as well as this has created negative aspects.